Scholarship Program

History of Tulsa County Medical Society Foundation Scholarship Fund Trust


The Fund was established in 1964 as a 501 (c) 3 organization, from proceeds received from a community-wide mass immunization for Polio sponsored by TCMS. In 2010, the fund became a program of the Tulsa County Medical Society Foundation. The Fund had a total of $31,500 in the beginning. It was envisioned that approximately $2,500.00 annually would be presented until the fund was depleted.


To date, over $1.3 million in scholarships has been given to 1,306 medical students.


The number of applications received annually ranges from 25 to 40.


The spending policy of the Scholarship Fund is to distribute 5% of its market value yearly.


The following awards, totaling $32,500 are made annually:


  • TCMS President’s Leadership Award (2 @ $5,000 each)

  • TCMS Foundation Community Service Award (2 @$2,500 each)

  • OU Dean’s Leadership Award (1 @ $2,500)

  • OSU Dean’s Leadership Award (1 @ $2,500)

  • Charles James Bate Memorial Award (1 @ $5,000)

  • The Betty Louise Conrad Memorial Scholarship Award (1 @ $5,000)

  • The Mona Whitmire Scholarship for Medical Students Award (1 @ $2,500)


Also a Leadership Fund was established to assist students who attend AMA/OSMA/AOA/OOA meetings.


The Tulsa Surgical Society contributed over $50,000.00 to the TCMS Scholarship Fund over the 17 years until their organization disbanded in 2016. Tulsa Surgical Society Scholarship Awards were presented to medical students who have indicated an interest in a surgical specialty.


While there is no obligation for students to repay the grants, they are encouraged once in practice, to consider a contribution to the Fund, in at least the amount they have received. This will ensure that future medical students will receive assistance from the Fund.


Scholarship Eligibility Requirements:

  1. Must be in Sophomore, Junior or Senior year, and

  2. Must be enrolled and in good standing at one of the following medical schools, OU School of Community Medicine or OSU College of osteopathic medicine.


Students are also asked to make a statement about their long-range career plans, interest in medicine, community service and leadership activities.

© 2021 by Tulsa County Medical Society & TCMS Foundation

5315 S Lewis Ave, Tulsa, OK 74105

Tel: 918.743.6184

  • White Facebook Icon